Home >> Conejos

Conejos County Conservation District

Judy Lopez
PO Box 255
La Jara, CO 81140
(719) 589-3907
(719) 589-0613


Conejos County Conservation District is dedicated to assisting landowners of Conejos County for better use and protection of our natural resources for present and future generations.


Conejos County Conservation District, a county-wide district in Conejos County, was established on May 31, 1962, this year will mark the districts 50th anniversary!

Center Conservation District encompasses all the land in Sagauche County except for those areas that had been previously excluded.  Total acreage within the District is 1,573,370 acres.


The Conejos Conservation District is proud of their achievements. The board of supervisors is composed of a variety of super visors that come from all reaches of the agriculture community. The talent that the board brings ensures sound manage of all natural resources within the district.


The board has a tradition of service, not just to local producers, but to small acre landowners and to various agriculture and education entities throughout Conejos County, the San Luis Valley and the State of Colorado.

Board of Supervisors

  • Jason Coombs, President

  • Johnny Mestas, Vice President

  • , Treasure/Secretary

  • Nathan Coombs, Member

  • Myron Price, Member

  • Jesse Vance, Member

  • Brock Canty, Member


  • Kristi Huffaker, District Manager

If you are interested in learning more about one of our programs or being added to our small acreage mailing list, please contact Kristi Huffaker at kjhuffaker@yahoo.com

37.2750084, -105.960301